Uncafe – Hidden Between the Streets

When I woke up this morning, I was immediately faced with a dilemma. Shweta wanted a Burrito Bowl. A flash of thoughts raced through my mind: We’re in Bombay. Why burrito bowl? Where are we going to get it here? Taco Bell? Do they have it? But that’s all the way in Goregoan. There’s one one in R-City as well. Ugh. Let me just check Zomato.

So I did, and I found one place not too far away. Shweta happily got ready as we made our move to satisfy her desires. As we followed our Google Map directions to turn left into one of the smallest streets of Sion, Uncafe stood out among the dusty building and ongoing construction. Like a bird of paradise nestled among pigeons, the pop of colour on the front facade is something you’ll miss only if you blink. The Décor is the first thing that caught our eye and one of the main reasons why we decided to try this place out, it’s also one of the few places that serves Burrito Bowls.

Uncafe is set up, well, like a cafe, with four 4-seater tables, two 2-seaters, and a large table in the loft. The background plays American soft rock and country music, and Beatles fans will enjoy their selection. Shweta found the decor really cute, and liked the multitude of games they had available like tic-tac-toe, Scrabble, marbles and, Uno, that you can play while you are waiting for your food.

Although Uncafe is purely vegetarian, the menu has plenty of interesting options that can keep even the most ardent meat-eaters occupied. I had the BBQ Wrap, and Shweta took the Burrito Bowl (of course :P). The Sumac fries looked interesting, and I hadn’t tasted anything Middle Eastern in a while, so we ordered that as well. To drink, Shweta got the Lemon Mojito, and I stuck to the timeless classic, water.

The Sumac Fries, suffice to say, was the favourite between the two us. The balance between the tangy Sumac spice and the salt on the fries seemed perfect, and the dip went perfect with it. Unfortunately, Shweta didn’t really like her Lemon Mojito. She compared it to her detox water, and after I took a sip, it also left like just little more than water, with a little bit of sweetener and some mint. Not the ‘mojito flavour’ everyone is used to.

The BBQ Wrap though was quite delicious. I’m not usually a fan of pineapple salsa, but it really worked well with all the flavours. I do wish though that the ‘Wrap’ was wrapped a little better. With my first bite, the wrap started falling apart, but it was appetising enough that I didn’t mind so much.

Finally, the Burrito Bowl arrived, and at first glance it really looked great. The colours and the smell made my mouth-water, and I couldn’t wait to dig in. As much as I wanted to like it though, at my first bite, I couldn’t help but feel a little disappointed. Not that the Burrito Bowl wasn’t tasty, it definitely was, but it lacked that signature Mexican taste that usually accompanies burritos and Mexican food. It had a much more Indian taste to it then we expected, but overall it was a good dish.

Unfortunately, in the end, Shweta’s Burrito Bowl craving wasn’t satisfied, and we stepped out of the restaurant back into the heat of the city. I guess, we’d have to keep looking.


Our Meal

Sumac Fries
Seasoned fries dusted with tangy Sumac spice

BBQ Wrap
Cottage Cheese, BBQ sauce, pineapple salsa, lettuce

Burrito Bowl
Herb rice, kidney beans, sautéed vegetables, guacamole

Lemon Mojito
Just lemon with mint water

Check out Uncafe on Zomato here:
Uncafe Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

